PDA

View Full Version : College Majors/Minors

ThePudge
07-12-2007, 12:44 AM
Hey everyone, I'm around here a decent amount around draft time and the few months leading up to it. I live in Philly, I'm going into my Senior year of HS right now, and I'm looking at a couple schools. I visited Ohio University and Ohio State yesterday and today. I like Ohio U a lot, but I really loved Ohio State. I'll also probably check out some NYC schools such as Fordham and St. John's. I bring this all up here because I'm an aspiring sports writer or scout. I'm not entirely sure what the best way to go about getting into these businesses is. I'm just assuming Journalism/Communications. However, I decided I'd post here to see if anyone had any college recommendations from my list, any advice, or any information on college majors/minors needed to get a job in my desired field eventually. Thank you and I hope to hear from you guys soon.

kwilk103
07-12-2007, 12:46 AM
im majoring in journalism--news/editorial

thats the way to go for newpapers/magazines/etc

themaninblack
07-12-2007, 12:50 AM
im double majoring history and psychology i think.

ThePudge
07-12-2007, 12:50 AM
im majoring in journalism--news/editorial

thats the way to go for newpapers/magazines/etc

I'm thinking magazine, or online journalism would be the way to go for Sports Writing, put out a few articles every week instead of being forced to put out an article or two a day. It just seems like you're able to put more thought and research into your work that way and not come across as such an idiot.

ThePudge
07-12-2007, 01:00 AM
What schools are you guys at?

kwilk103
07-12-2007, 01:35 AM
wvu--ill be a soph; just switched to journalism and am taking journ 101 online

ThePudge
07-12-2007, 01:38 AM
wvu--ill be a soph; just switched to journalism and am taking journ 101 online

You enjoying that? Or just WVU in general?

kwilk103
07-12-2007, 01:54 AM
i like wvu a lot--parents went there