PDA

View Full Version : Shonn Greene RB-Iowa

steelernation77
10-04-2008, 11:02 PM
So I will preface this by saying that I'm an Iowa student, but Shonn Greene, I believe, has emerged as a legitimate pro prospect.

At 5'11" 235lbs., he's got a pro style body. He's got over 100 yards rushing in every game this year and has averaged at least 5 yards a carry in every game. Iowa's passing attack isn't much, so he's running against teams keying solely on him. Today against Michigan State he had 30 carries for 157 yard.

He doesn't have top end speed, but he reads holes well and hits the line fast. He rarely goes down on first contact.

His sophomore year, he returned kicks. In 2007 he missed the entire season because of grades. He attended a juco to raise his grades but was not playing football. Despite getting out of shape and reportedly weighing around 250+ in the spring, he came back this year and won the starting job. He's still not totally in shape, but he's proven that he has not lost his talent.

I think Greene, if he continues to run well, will enter the pro draft after this year, despite having a year of eligibility left. He's 23 years old and has shown that he struggles academically. However, I do not count this against him. Ferentz said he believes Shonn's fight to get back to the team has matured him and shown him what he has to lose.

For those of you that have seen him, feel free to add your own thoughts. For those that haven't, I suggest watching a game, his physicality is impressive.

STARHEATHER
10-04-2008, 11:19 PM