PDA

View Full Version : Graham Harrell

Race for the Heisman
11-08-2008, 10:21 PM
So let's be honest here. Aside from the system, why is Harrell not one of the top quarterbacks?

First, let me preface this by saying I am relatively new to this whole draftnik thing, and thus Harrell is the first system quarterback I've been infatuated with. But, with as good as he has played, I would argue he transcends the system. He does not play in a spread option where it's the much-derided 'one read and run.' I won't use statistics to argue my point because we all know the numbers are skewed by the system.

Despite that, just by watching him play, I would argue he is a first day pick. He has good arm strength. He's obviously no Stafford or Cutler but he can do the far-side out or a dig from the far hash. His accuracy is impeccable, not just his overall completion percentage, but the way he hits his receiver in stride or puts it on the back shoulder. Granted his offensive line has been excellent, but he moves well in and out of the pocket in response to pressure. His release is prototypical. He has good size at 6'3" (I don't think it would matter if he checked in a 6'2" - 6'1" might be a different story). He obviously has the tactical mental part down as evidenced by his ability to go through all his progressions down to the checkdown (and he has extensive experience doing this since he comes from a much vilified passing spread) and the way he beats blitzes by throwing to that side. He routinely identifies the best match-up on the field. He has great field vision and when he scrambles he always looks to extend the play until the last second possible.
Finally, he's willing to throw the ball away when nothing is on.

So is it just the system? I just don't get it, what does everyone else see that I do not?

Brent
11-08-2008, 10:30 PM
So is it just the system?