PDA

View Full Version : So I want to start a my own forum...

niel89
01-20-2010, 12:24 AM
I want to start a internet forum for my college, but I honestly have no idea where to start. Does anyone here have any experience with buying a domain name and starting forum up? It would be similar in style to this one (vBulletin?), but for selling books and discussions for local school stuff.

I have honestly no idea where to start so I thought someone here would have some advice.

vikes_28
01-20-2010, 12:34 AM
Try godaddy.com vBulliten is really expensive. So I wouldn't start off right away with that. There are free web forums that you can use, and they are just as efficient. Other than purchasing the domain name, i have no knowledge of what to do.

DJC
01-20-2010, 08:32 AM
You can get free IP boards through http://ipbservice.jcink.com. If you look around you can find some nice themes for them too.

CC.SD
01-20-2010, 02:31 PM
Here's a method absolutely anyone can use.

Buy a bottle of rum, knock on a door with some guy friends. Get em, knock on a door with some girls and say 'hey sorry to disturb you, we found this rum can you show us how to use it?'

and now you don't need a forum for your college anymore. Use facebook if you need to.

wogitalia
01-20-2010, 06:59 PM
Buy a bottle of rum, knock on a door with some guy friends. Get em, knock on a door with some girls and say 'hey sorry to disturb you, we found this rum can you show us how to use it?'

and now you don't need a forum for your college anymore. Use facebook if you need to.

Why does it feel like someone did this to you today and we are suffering the results ;).

You can set one up for free if you want, vBulletin is very expensive and webhosting isn't all that cheap either.

Google for "Free Web Hosts" or something similar and you will find a bunch of sites that compare the different sites that offer hosting, if you don't mind having their branding in the address it can save a few quid.