PDA

View Full Version : Final Mock, 1 round

ChiFan24
04-28-2011, 04:33 PM
Didn't want to chalk, so there are a ton of trades and surprises...also don't really care about comments, the draft is two hours away

1. Carolina Panthers – Cameron Newton QB Auburn
Hurney talking up the importance of QB’s was the clincher….you don’t tell everyone how important the position is, and then not have one. I’m not totally sure if Newton is my top prospect, but he’s close. I think it’s the right pick.

2. Denver Broncos – Von Miller LB Texas A&M
I’ve been leaning this way for a couple months, and now this seems to be the most likely pick.

3. Buffalo Bills – Marcell Dareus DE Alabama
I’ve had Christian Ponder as their guy back when Jake Locker was the #1 QB and nobody knew/cared who Cam Newton and Blaine Gabbert were. I don’t think that’s changed. I have a problem with Dareus as a five technique; I think it’s a waste of his talents. I don’t think there’s a viable trade partner though, so Dareus edges out Patrick Peterson because of need.

4. Cincinnati Bengals – A.J. Green WR Georgia
The general thought is that they go Green at 4 and try for a QB later. I buy that, since I don’t think Gabbert is a very good fit for the WCO.

5. Dallas Cowboys (f/Arz) – Patrick Peterson CB/S Louisiana State
TRADE: Arizona trades #5 and a 2012 mid rounder to Dallas for #9 and #40
I feel like Patrick Peterson is a copout pick for Arizona since nobody knows what they’ll do, and I feel the same way about Tyron Smith at #9 for Dallas. This pick is going to get a lot of trade action between Dallas, Houston, Minnesota, etc. and Arizona will be all over it. Eventually they get Dallas to overpay for Jerry Jones’ favorite player in the draft.

6. Minnesota Vikings (f/Cle) – Blaine Gabbert QB Missouri
TRADE: Cleveland trades #6 to Minnesota for #12 and #43