PDA

View Full Version : High Speed internet help


ricky bobby
04-03-2007, 02:47 PM
I live in a rural area and none of the major internet providers provide DSL to my area. So my options are limited to Satellite (60 bucks a month + 500 for installation), or High Speed Dial-up.

My question is about High Speed dial-up.
Does anyone have it?
Is it realiable?
Is it as fast as advertised?
Would you recommend it?

snuff
04-03-2007, 04:29 PM
Wait, people still use 56k outside of my grandparents?

HawkeyeFan
04-03-2007, 04:33 PM
Cable. Its great!

Maddenhero
04-03-2007, 04:36 PM
I don't think satellite is 60$.. probably for the first few months, then it'll be like 100$+. I live in a rural area, too. DSL isn't currently in my area, but cable is, finally. I have to wait until my direct TV contract is done so I can get a package for cable. I have dial up currently =_=;.

GB12
04-03-2007, 04:39 PM
Cable. Its great!

Cable and DSL are about the same. I've had both and there is no difference in speed. If it's a decission between the two go with the cheaper one.

duckseason
04-03-2007, 04:41 PM
Write your local congressman and remind him of the billions of dollars that the phone companies promised to use to build a high speed internet infrastructure. Ask him why they're not being penalized for screwing us over.

ricky bobby
04-03-2007, 04:47 PM
Write your local congressman and remind him of the billions of dollars that the phone companies promised to use to build a high speed internet infrastructure. Ask him why they're not being penalized for screwing us over.

Lol. Yeah, I should tell him to string a Fiber optic cable to the boone docks so I can get FIOS.

duckseason
04-03-2007, 04:49 PM
Lol. Yeah, I should tell him to string a Fiber optic cable to the boone docks so I can get FIOS.
Hell yeah. there's no legitimate reason why you shouldn't have reasonable access to the internet. America is waaay behind the technology curve when it comes to this. People still use dial-up? WTF? Why?

ricky bobby
04-03-2007, 04:57 PM
Hell yeah. there's no legitimate reason why you shouldn't have reasonable access to the internet. America is waaay behind the technology curve when it comes to this. People still use dial-up? WTF? Why?

The area I live in is rural, but not that rural. I can walk outside and can count 8 or 9 houses right from my yard. I live like 100 yards off of a main road. I'm sure the houses on that main road get Broadband, there is no reason why they can't just run the line down my road also. I can't get cable on my road either.

duckseason
04-03-2007, 05:08 PM
The area I live in is rural, but not that rural. I can walk outside and can count 8 or 9 houses right from my yard. I live like 100 yards off of a main road. I'm sure the houses on that main road get Broadband, there is no reason why they can't just run the line down my road also. I can't get cable on my road either.
It's bs. You're being screwed.

KILLERSANTA
04-03-2007, 05:39 PM
Wait, people still use 56k outside of my grandparents?

My grandparents!

Ward
04-03-2007, 05:53 PM
My family's home in Garland (population 250,000+) was using dial up until about 6 months ago.

BigDawg819
04-03-2007, 05:56 PM
If your still using dial up take the phone cord and hang yourself! Its the freaking 21st Century!

ricky bobby
04-03-2007, 06:17 PM
If your still using dial up take the phone cord and hang yourself! Its the freaking 21st Century!

Dude? Did you not read that I don't have many options?

BigDawg819
04-03-2007, 06:20 PM
Dude? Did you not read that I don't have many options?

Suicide is always an option. :D

Paul
04-04-2007, 03:23 PM
I've been hearing about Fibre to our homes since I was on AOL. Still not here. I think Japan has some **** like that.

ricky bobby
04-04-2007, 03:27 PM
I've been hearing about Fibre to our homes since I was on AOL. Still not here. I think Japan has some **** like that.
Japan is head an shoulders above us technology wise.