Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where will Mardy Gilyard go?

How high can he be drafted?

As a UC student I must say that I really think highly of Gilyard, he does nothing but make big plays and move the chains. In a crop of many talented players and WR's potentially entering this draft though he seems to be getting lost in the mix a little bit. In many of the mock drafts I haven't even seen him in the first 2 rounds.

His production and ability are undeniable, 75+ receptions, over 1000 yards easy, and 10+ receiving tds each of the last two seasons. Throw in 3 kickoff return Td's, one of those being against WVU in his worst game receiving-wise this season and you have a real playmaker on your hands.

Furthermore I must point out that this guy is a hell of a character after finding out about how he dropped out of school but worked hard to get back in and during this time while living in his car he was still helping youths in the community. There's also a video of him hugging some kid after running him over in the stands.

After rolling all of these things into one I don't see why he shouldn't be a first round draft pick. I believe he can be an impact player at the next level with the ability and character that he possesses to be a great professional.

Obviously though what I see of him may be biased due to me being a UC student and all, which is why I am really interested in seeing what you all think of him and his potential at the next level.

I think after the All Star games and the combine are over Gilyard will be in the first round of most mocks, and then in the first round of the actual draft. I see the top WR's as all pretty close. Who knows, Maybe Gilyard could be the first WR taken.

Comment

I'm a big fan of UC and Gilyard, but I think he's a fringe 1st round talent guy. If a team was really desperate it's possible he could go in the 1st round, but I think it's likely he'll go in the 2nd.

Comment