Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I have a question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Mr. Stiller
    started a topic I have a question

    I have a question

    Belichick challenged a Penalty..

    I thought that couldn't be challenged.

    Did I miss a rule, rule change or did they just rewrite the rule book tonight?

  • OzTitan
    replied
    I think the rule is actually if the hands go outside and remain outside for a period of time the ref feels it was a hold.

    But I'm going off Madden commentary in the Madden NFL video game :P

    Leave a comment:


  • Mr. Stiller
    replied
    Originally posted by tylerb929 View Post
    What did everybody think of when Brady threw the ball to the middle of no where (no one was within 10 yards of where the ball landed) and he was standing in his own endzone, between the tackles. Shouldn't that have been intentional grounding and a safety?
    I thought that immediately, but that was the one where Kawika Mitchell hit him as he threw. Brady's Hand smacked off of Mitchells Helmet.
    Not entirely challengeable, because when a QB feels there may be an offsides and he spots a flag tossed at the snap of the ball (I'm sure plenty savvy ones see it), he will be under the presumption it is a "free play". So if he throws an INT, no biggie, it was offsides anyway....except if they challenge it and it turns out it wasn't, which wouldn't be fair on the offense since the ref threw the flag sending the message it was a free play.

    Maybe you could challenge the lack of a defensive offsides call, though. As in, snap, sacked, and the offense feels he was offsides. That should in fairness be possible if the Pats' one is ok.
    What about Holding? Because if you can challenge it and it's clear, can't that be a challengeable play then? Because it's not a "Call" because the rule is clear cut. If the hands travel outside the body, it's holding.. Correct?

    Leave a comment:


  • tylerb929
    replied
    What did everybody think of when Brady threw the ball to the middle of no where (no one was within 10 yards of where the ball landed) and he was standing in his own endzone, between the tackles. Shouldn't that have been intentional grounding and a safety?

    Leave a comment:


  • OzTitan
    replied
    Originally posted by kwilk103 View Post
    shouldnt defensive offsides be challengeable then?
    Not entirely challengeable, because when a QB feels there may be an offsides and he spots a flag tossed at the snap of the ball (I'm sure plenty savvy ones see it), he will be under the presumption it is a "free play". So if he throws an INT, no biggie, it was offsides anyway....except if they challenge it and it turns out it wasn't, which wouldn't be fair on the offense since the ref threw the flag sending the message it was a free play.

    Maybe you could challenge the lack of a defensive offsides call, though. As in, snap, sacked, and the offense feels he was offsides. That should in fairness be possible if the Pats' one is ok.

    Leave a comment:


  • kwilk103
    replied
    shouldnt defensive offsides be challengeable then?

    Leave a comment:


  • ChiFan24
    replied
    Originally posted by Mr. Stiller View Post
    I didn't know either way.. my understanding was you could only challenge position or possession.

    I didn't know you could challenge a penalty or something that would result in a penalty.

    Can you challenge pass interference?
    No, pass interference is a judgement call.

    There's no debating in this situation. Either there were 12 men on the field, or there weren't.

    A similar situation is illegal touching. Either the receiver went out of bounds or he didn't. No judgement involved, therefore, it's challengable. Another one would be illegal procedure on an onside kick.

    Leave a comment:


  • Mr. Stiller
    replied
    Originally posted by yo123 View Post
    I dont know when it was the rule was put in, but Joe Gibbs challenged the exact same play earlier this year against the Vikings.
    I didn't know either way.. my understanding was you could only challenge position or possession.

    I didn't know you could challenge a penalty or something that would result in a penalty.

    Can you challenge pass interference?

    Leave a comment:


  • yo123
    replied
    I dont know when it was the rule was put in, but Joe Gibbs challenged the exact same play earlier this year against the Vikings.

    Leave a comment:


  • Turtlepower
    replied
    You can challenge a penalty as long as it is one that doesn't involve a ref's judgment. At least that is how I understand it.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X

Debug Information