Draft Countdown Forums

Draft Countdown Forums (http://www.draftcountdown.com/forum/index.php)
-   Off Topic (http://www.draftcountdown.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   Job Thread (http://www.draftcountdown.com/forum/showthread.php?t=51315)

josh07039 02-29-2012 02:36 PM

Job Thread

I graduated from college last year and have been working at my first full time job for around 8-9 months now. I currently work for a company that is in logistics, basically shipping stuff around the world for big companies. In my time at this company I have felt mistreated to a crazy extent as has everyone else. I'm just wondering how bad everyone else's job situations are to see if my company is the worst or if it is comparable. From what I have heard from others who have worked other jobs my company is worse than most, but im curious to see what others have to say.

A couple of examples of my company treating us like crap
-30 minute unpaid lunch- Our bosses have issued a "directive" saying that they want us working 8 hours and that our lunch does not count for that time.
-The CEO of the company promised a company wide raise by the end of january and still nothing.
-No Christmas bonus/gift-I dont care about it, but I heard most other companies at least do something
-No respect for religious observance outside of the accepted christian holidays-I had to waste 2 of my 3 personal days for the year for Rosh Hashanah. Im not expecting the company to close down, but I hear a lot of companies will offer one or two days off considered to cover a religious observance.
-And just one last little gesture to demonstrate how vindictive my bosses are. We moved to a new office recently and they assigned what cubicle everyone is to sit at. There is one corner cubicle that is next to the windows and has a little privacy but they purposely left it empty.